aiReceptionist vs another AI receptionist

Every product in this category answers calls with AI. What differs is how much you build, what the price covers, and where the hard calls go.

This page compares us with our own category, so read it with that in mind. The rows set aiReceptionist against the shapes an AI receptionist takes, not against one vendor. Where a product is named, the claim is cited to its own site. Where vendors genuinely differ, the row says so instead of guessing.

Example call

Incoming call

New caller

(757) 555-0134

Outerbanks HVAC line

Answered by aiReceptionist. It says it is an AI at the start of every call.

At a glance

At a glance
RowaiReceptionistanother AI receptionist
What you buyA finished receptionist you configure in the portal, or have built for youVaries by vendor. Phonely describes a place to “build and optimize AI agents”, with a visual workflow builder
Where you run itThe portal is the product: set-up, calls, transcripts and billing in one placeVaries by vendor. Quo states that its Sona agent is “built to be used in Quo only”
When the AI should not take the callTransfers to your own people are included; a partner human desk is on the roadmapVaries by vendor. Worth checking whether a staffed desk is offered, or only a transfer to you
How you are billedMonthly plan with included minutes; overage per minutePer minute, per agent or per user. Phonely and Rosie publish per-minute plans, Goodcall prices per agent, Quo prices per user plus credits
Published entry price$99/Month for 200 minutes (DIY: Self-Service)Entry plans in this set run from Rosie “$49, per month” to Frontdesk AI “$99/mo”; Phonely publishes a Free plan at “$0 per month”

Capabilities, side by side

The aiReceptionist column reads from the same feature list as our pricing page, so it cannot say anything that page does not.

Capabilities
RowaiReceptionistanother AI receptionist
Answers the phoneIncluded on every planIncluded. It is what the category is
Books appointments during the callIncluded on every planVaries by tier. Rosie sends an appointment link by text on Professional, and books on your calendar on Scale and Growth
Transfers calls to your teamIncluded on every planVaries by tier. Rosie lists warm and live transfers on Scale and Growth; Quo states Sona transfers to a teammate or department
Escalation to a human deskOn the roadmapVaries by vendor. Not stated on the pricing pages cited below
Summary after every callIncluded on every planCommon. Frontdesk AI states every conversation is “transcribed, summarized, and pushed straight to your CRM”
Transcript of the callIncluded on every planVaries by tier. Phonely lists transcripts and AI analytics on its paid plans
Recording of the callIncluded on every planVaries by vendor. Rosie lists summaries, transcripts and recordings on every plan
Sentiment on each callIncluded on every planVaries by vendor. Phonely lists “AI summaries, sentiment analysis” after each call
Remembers a returning callerIncluded on every plan (optional, where caller ID is passed; you set the window and entry cap)Varies by vendor. Not stated on the pricing pages cited below
Zapier and app integrationsIncluded on every planCommon. Goodcall publishes Zapier to “10,000+ existing tools”, Rosie to “1,000+ apps”
Self-serve workflow builderIncluded on every planVaries by tier. Phonely publishes a visual workflow builder; Goodcall publishes 1, 3 or 25 logic flows by plan
You can listen in, steer or joinOn the roadmapVaries by vendor. Not stated on the pricing pages cited below

Pricing, like for like

Our three plans are published, and priced per minute with a monthly allowance. The category prices in several units: per minute, per agent, per user. Every figure below is quoted as displayed, with the vendor named and its own page cited.

Pricing basis
RowaiReceptionistanother AI receptionist
Billing unitMinutes, with a monthly allowanceVaries. Phonely and Rosie publish per-minute plans; Goodcall prices per agent with a unique-customer cap; Quo prices per user and meters Sona in credits
Plans$99/Month (200 minutes), $350/Month (500 minutes) or $1,000/Month (1,500 minutes)Rosie Professional “$49, per month” (250 minutes), Phonely Starter “$50 per month, billed monthly” (200 mins), Goodcall Starter “$79 monthly per agent”, Frontdesk AI “$99/mo” (200 voice minutes), Quo Starter “$19 Per user/per month”
Overage$0.60 per additional minute; $0.50 on EnterpriseVaries, and some publish none. Phonely Starter lists “$0.25/min”; Frontdesk AI lists voice at 25 credits a minute (“$0.25/min”); Goodcall charges “$0.50/customer” above the plan cap; Rosie publishes no overage rate
Free tier or trialFree trial on every planVaries. Phonely publishes a Free plan at “$0 per month” with “100 Free Minutes”; Rosie and Quo publish 7-day free trials
ContractNo long-term contractVaries by vendor. Rosie states “Cancel anytime”; Frontdesk AI states “No contracts”

When another AI receptionist is the better choice

Another AI receptionist is the better choice when you want to own the agent. A platform hands you the prompt, the call logic and the API. With a developer in house you can change all three the same day. Phonely publishes a visual workflow builder and a Free plan at “$0 per month” with “100 Free Minutes”. A team that wants to prototype before spending anything can start there. If your calls follow an unusual flow, building it yourself is often the shorter road.

Volume is the other case. Goodcall publishes per-agent plans with “Unlimited minutes/tokens” and charges “$0.50/customer” above the plan cap. At high volume, with engineering to spend, a shape like that can cost less than a minute allowance. We are not the right answer there. aiReceptionist is for the business that wants the receptionist finished, the price published, and a person to call.

What switching actually involves

  1. Export your call history, transcripts and recordings before you cancel. Goodcall, for one, keeps call history for 7 days on its Starter plan.
  2. Write down what your current agent knows and does: the greeting, the questions it asks, its transfer rules and its calendar.
  3. Rebuild that in the aiReceptionist portal, or hand the same brief to us on SMB or Enterprise and we build it.
  4. Reconnect your calendar and CRM through Zapier or the post-call sync.
  5. Repoint the number. Change the forward on your own line, or ask your current vendor about porting a number it issued.
  6. Run both during the free trial and compare the summaries before you cut over.

Questions people ask

How is this page different from the named comparisons?
This one is about the category. If you are weighing one product, the named pages on this site cite that vendor’s own site and show the date each fact was checked.
What should I compare between AI receptionists?
Four things: what the price covers, who builds the agent, where a call goes when the AI should not take it, and what you can read afterwards.
Why do the published prices look so different?
The units differ. Phonely and Rosie publish per-minute plans, Goodcall prices per agent, and Quo prices per user and meters its Sona agent in credits. Convert each to your own call volume before you compare.
Will callers know they are talking to an AI?
On ours, yes. The receptionist says it is an AI, and a caller who asks for a person is transferred by the routing you set.
Is a human desk included?
Transfers to your own people are included on every plan. Escalation to a partner desk staffed by people is on the roadmap, so read the badge on the pricing page before you rely on it.
What if I pick the wrong one?
Export what you have, rebuild the brief in the portal, and change the forward. There is no long-term contract on our side.

Try aiReceptionist on your own calls

The free trial includes everything in the plan you choose. Run it alongside what you have today.

Start the free trial
Call the AI
See pricing