aiReceptionist vs Goodcall

Goodcall prices its AI phone agent per agent per month with unlimited minutes and a cap on unique customers; aiReceptionist prices per minute with a monthly allowance, and adds managed-service plans where the receptionist is built for you.

Both are AI-first and self-serve at the entry level. The decision usually comes down to billing shape, per agent with a customer cap, or per minute with an allowance, and whether you want to build the receptionist yourself or have it built.

Example call

Incoming call

New caller

(757) 555-0134

Outerbanks HVAC line

Answered by aiReceptionist. It says it is an AI at the start of every call.

At a glance

At a glance
RowaiReceptionistGoodcall
Who answersAn AI receptionist trained on your business; calls it should not handle transfer to your teamAn AI phone agent; transfers to staff through an “operator” workflow
HoursEvery hour of every day“It answers instantly 24/7”
How you are billedMonthly plan with included minutes; overage per minutePer agent per month; “Unlimited minutes/tokens”; overage per unique customer above the plan cap
Entry price$99/Month for 200 minutes (DIY: Self-Service)Starter “$79 monthly per agent” (100 unique customers a month)
SetupSelf-serve on DIY; built for you on SMB and EnterpriseSelf-serve; Enterprise adds custom onboarding

Capabilities, side by side

The aiReceptionist column reads from the same feature list as our pricing page, so it cannot say anything that page does not.

Capabilities
RowaiReceptionistGoodcall
Answers the phoneIncluded on every planIncluded
Books appointments during the callIncluded on every planIncluded, syncs with your CRM and calendar
Transfers calls to your teamIncluded on every planIncluded, customizable “operator” workflow to business lines or staff
Sends you the lead by text or emailIncluded on every planIncluded, “via SMS, email, Google Sheets, or your CRM”
Texts the callerIncluded on every planNot stated on their site
Transcript and recordingIncluded on every planCall history kept for 7 days (Starter), 30 days (Growth) or unlimited (Scale); transcripts and recordings not stated on their site
Sentiment on each callIncluded on every planNot stated on their site, analytics cover automation rates, call duration and caller behavior
Zapier and app integrationsIncluded on every planZapier to “10,000+ existing tools”; Slack and Microsoft Teams named
Custom integration built for youIncluded on SMB and EnterpriseCustom API integrations on Enterprise
Your own phone numberOne dedicated number included on DIYA new Goodcall number with a selectable local area code, or forward your existing line
Team seatsIncluded on SMB and Enterprise3 team members (Starter), 9 (Growth), 50 (Scale)
Self-serve call-flow builderIncluded on every plan1 logic flow (Starter), 3 (Growth), 25 (Scale)

Pricing, like for like

aiReceptionist is priced per minute with a monthly allowance. Goodcall is priced per agent per month with unlimited minutes and a monthly cap on unique customers, charged per customer above it. Both are shown as published.

Pricing basis
RowaiReceptionistGoodcall
Billing unitMinutesAgents per month, with a unique-customer cap
Plans$99/Month (200 minutes), $350/Month (500 minutes) or $1,000/Month (1,500 minutes)Starter “$79 monthly per agent”, Growth “$129 monthly per agent”, Scale “$249 monthly per agent”; Enterprise custom
Annual optionNot offered“15% OFF” billed annually: $66, $108 and $208 a month per agent
Allowance200, 500 or 1,500 minutes a month“Unlimited minutes/tokens”; 100, 250 or 500 unique customers a month
Overage$0.60 per additional minute; $0.50 on Enterprise“$0.50/customer” above the monthly cap; “No fees for number of calls, call minutes, or tokens consumed”
Free trialFree trial on every planNot stated on their pricing page
ContractNo long-term contractNot stated on their pricing page

When Goodcall is the better choice

Goodcall is the better choice when your calls are many and short and come from a large number of different people, a busy salon, a restaurant, a single location with heavy walk-in-style demand. Its per-agent pricing carries unlimited minutes, so call volume does not raise the bill; only the count of unique customers does, and the published cap and overage are clear.

It is also the right pick if the number of flows is what you are buying. Goodcall publishes one, three or twenty-five logic flows by plan, so a business that wants many separate flows on a cheap tier can count them before it buys. Our workflow builder is on every plan and we do not publish a flow count.

What switching actually involves

  1. Export what you need from Goodcall’s call history before you cancel, Starter keeps only 7 days and Growth 30, so do this first.
  2. Note the logic flows and the “operator” transfer rules you built; recreate them as routing rules and answers in the aiReceptionist portal, or hand them to us on a managed plan.
  3. Reconnect the tools Goodcall fed, calendar, CRM, Google Sheets via Zapier, to aiReceptionist’s Zapier or post-call sync.
  4. If callers dial a Goodcall-issued number, point that forwarding at your aiReceptionist number; if you forwarded your own line, change the forward instead.
  5. Run both during the free trial and compare the summaries you get from each before switching the forward fully.

Questions people ask

How is Goodcall priced?
Per agent per month: Starter at $79, Growth at $129 and Scale at $249, each with unlimited minutes and a monthly cap of 100, 250 or 500 unique customers, charged at $0.50 per customer above the cap. Annual billing is 15% off. aiReceptionist is priced per minute: $99/Month for 200 minutes, $350/Month for 500 and $1,000/Month for 1,500.
Does Goodcall charge for minutes?
Its pricing page states “No fees for number of calls, call minutes, or tokens consumed”; the variable charge is per unique customer above the plan cap. aiReceptionist charges $0.60 per minute above the plan allowance ($0.50 on Enterprise).
Can Goodcall transfer a call to a person?
Yes, its homepage describes a customizable “operator” workflow for transferring calls to business lines or staff. aiReceptionist includes smart transfers and call routing to your team on every plan.
Which one lets me build call flows myself?
Both do. Goodcall publishes a logic-flow builder with one, three or twenty-five flows by plan. aiReceptionist’s workflow builder is on every plan: you build what happens on a call from a set of nodes in the portal, with no developer. On the managed plans we build it for you instead.
Can I keep my number if I leave Goodcall?
If you forwarded your own number to Goodcall, yes, change the forward. If callers dial a number Goodcall issued, ask Goodcall about porting it before you cancel.

Try aiReceptionist on your own calls

The free trial includes everything in the plan you choose. Run it alongside what you have today.

Start the free trial
Call the AI
See pricing